

MEETING MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

May 27, 2023

1. Call to Order

The meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the Silver Lake Management District (SLMD) was called to order by Chairman Purinton at 11:20 a.m., Saturday, May 27, 2023. The meeting was held at the Copper Bottom Bar & Grill, 28836 Silver Lake Road, Salem, WI. Purinton said the existing Chair was obligated to conduct this meeting until the Board elected the new Chair for the next year later in the meeting.

2. Roll Call

Present: John Coffey

Bill Hopkins Harry Laws

Jim Purinton (just re-elected at Annual Meeting)

Chairman Purinton said there was a vacancy due to Donna Kubik's resignation, but that there was a quorum.

3. Open Meeting Law Compliance

Chairman Purinton said notice of the meeting as well as its agenda was contained in the Annual Meeting Notice and was widely distributed as a result. The Open Meeting law requirements were satisfied.

4. <u>Vote on Dee Andershock Appointment to Fill Vacant Commissioner Position</u>

Chairman Purinton said that on May 16, 2023, pursuant to 33.28(7) of the Wisconsin Statutes, in a communication to the Board, he appointed Dee Andershock as Commissioner to fill the remaining 2-year term of the vacant position held by an elected Commissioner, Donna Kubik, who resigned effective the end of the 2023 Annual Meeting. The Board is required to confirm the appointment with a majority vote.

A motion was made by John Coffey, seconded by Harry Laws, to confirm the appointment of Dee Andershock as Commissioner for the vacant position having a 2-yr term remaining. The motion passed.

5. <u>Election of Officers</u>

A motion was made by Harry Laws, seconded by Bill Hopkins, to re-elect Jim Purinton as Chairman of the Silver Like Management District. The motion passed.

A motion was made by John Coffey, seconded by Dee Andershock, to re-elect Harry Laws as Treasurer of the Silver Lake Management District. The motion passed.

A motion was made by John Coffey, seconded by Harry Laws, to elect Dee Andershock as Secretary of the Silver Lake Management District. The motion passed.

6. Approval of April 25, 2023 Board Meeting Minutes

A motion was made by Harry Laws, seconded by John Coffey, to approve the Minutes of the April 25, 2023, Board Meeting. The motion passed. Bill Hopkins abstained from the vote.

7. Payment of Bills

A motion as made by Bill Hopkins, seconded by Dee Andershock, to approve payment of the \$500.00 reimbursement to Jim Purinton for the Annual Meeting expenses.

Purinton noted that invoices were received in the amount of \$170 from Image Management for website consulting and \$398.50 from Wisconsin Pond and Lake Resource (WPLR) for the permit for the 2023 HWM treatment. These invoices were within total amounts previously authorized by the Board and will be paid by the Treasurer.

8. Other Business

a. Silver Lake No-Wake Buoys

Bill Hopkins said he would talk with the Village Administrator regarding the installation of the missing no-wake buoys on the lake. Jim Purinton said he could purchase the missing buoys if needed but he would ask the Village to install them. John Coffey said he would work with Purinton to re-locate the existing buoys in better positions in the meantime.

b. Aquatic Plant Management Plan – User Survey

Harry Laws and Jim Purinton said they have reviewed the draft User Survey and that they would work with WLPR to finalize the survey, subject to Board and WDNR review. Purinton said they

would also work with WLPR regarding distribution of the User Survey. Laws said he hoped the survey could be widely distributed to include those in Silver Lake not on the water.

9. Next Board Meeting

The next meeting of the Silver Lake Management District will be held at 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 12, 2022. Location TBD but Purinton said he would try to reserve the Silver Lake Community Building (former Silver Lake Village Hall) at 113 S First Street, Silver Lake.

10. Adjournment

A motion was made by Harry Laws, seconded by Bill Hopkins, to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 11:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Dee Andershock, Secretary